Racing News

How Now Stakes Betting 2024 | Field | News | Past Winners

Saturday, November 18, 2023

Caulfield Racecourse – Melbourne, Victoria

Prize Money:


The How Now Stakes is a Group 3 race that is held at Caulfield Racecourse for mares and is run under set weights And penalty conditions, with a prize pool of $200,000.

Since the inaugural running of the How Now Stakes it has been held at Caulfield over 1200m.

The How Now Stakes has been classified as a Listed race from 1999-2004, before being upgraded to group 3 status from 2005 onwards.

The race is named after How Now, who won the 1976 Underwood Stakes.

Notable winners of the How Now Stakes include: Bella Nipotina (2021), Winter Bride (2018), Secret Agenda (2016), Politeness (2015), Catkins (2013), Velocitea (2009), Queen Of The Hill (2006), Miss Power Bird (2001) and Snippets’ Lass (1999).

2023 How Now Stakes Betting Odds

2023 How Now Stakes odds are currently unavailable. We will update this page when How Now Stakes odds go live.

Best How Now Stakes bookmakers

All of our top horse betting sites have markets for the How Now Stakes.

Most of the Melbourne Spring Carnival races have markets opened well in advance and the Group 3 How Now Stakes is no exception.

The top online bookmakers in Australia with How Now Stakes betting can be accessed via several different means, including via horse betting apps, telephone betting and via their websites.

It is a straight-forward process signing up and betting at How Now Stakes bookmakers, with things like Visa, Mastercard, Paypal and POLi the most popular way people fund their bookie accounts. The only real caveat is that you will have to prove your identity, before you have full access to your account.

Latest How Now Stakes News

How Now Stakes 2023 Final Field

HorseBetting will update this page when the How Now stakes final field is released.

Previous How Now Stakes Field

2023 How Now Stakes result

1st – Zapateo (+380)
2nd – Lavish Girl (+340)
3rd – Chain Of Lightning (-1250)

Recent How Now Stakes results

  • 2022: Zapateo pulls clear to claim How Now Stakes

    After a cool ride from Damien Oliver, Zapateo (+380) from Godolphin yard has finished over the top of her rivals to claim the 2022 Group 3 How Now Stakes. With the heavily fancied Chain Of Lightning (-153.85) on his inside, the daughter of Brazen Beau quickly got the better of the race favourite and raced clear to record a dominant 1.25 length victory, with Lavish Girl (+3000) running home into second place.

  • 2021: Bella Nipotina explodes to win How Now Stakes

    Bella Nipotina (+260) has overcome some bad luck in the home straight to explode through a gap and run away with an arrogant victory in the Group 3 How Now Stakes. The Ciaron Maher & David Eustace-trained mare was well backed before the jump of the race, but punters would have been worried when she was stuck in behind a wall of horses at the 200m mark. However, Craig Williams found a gap and pushed the button, which saw her run away from Chassis (+1100) and La Mexicana (+400) to win by just under a length.

  • 2020: Felicia races away for her rivals in How Now

    Dean Binaisse and Craig Williams have combined with Felicia (+500) to take out the Group 3 How Now Stakes. After settling outside the leader, the daughter of Unencumbered took over at the 300m mark to boot clear by three lengths on her rivals. Broadwayandfourth (+3000) and Fiesta (+1100) ran home nicely from the back to finish in second and third, respectively.

  • 2019: Manicure blows her rivals away to claim How NowRachel King has given Manicure (+1100) a peach of a ride to take out the 2019 Group 3 How Now Stakes at Caulfield, where she flew down the outside and blew her rivals away with a superior turn of foot. After settling behind the speed, King got her mount into the three-wide line, before pushing the button to go straight past the leaders. Angelic Ruler (+1700) and Dawn Dawn (+2000) made a lot of ground up from the back but finished over two lengths behind the winner in second and third, respectively.

How Now Stakes winners

How Now Stakes Past Winners


Damien Oliver
James Cummings

Bella Nipotina
Craig Williams
Ciaron Maher & David Eustace

Craig Williams
Dean Binaisse

Rachel King
James Cummings

Winter Bride
Ryan Maloney
Toby Edmonds

Savanna Amour
Brad Rawiller
Chris Meagher

Secret Agenda
Damien Oliver
Mick Price

Mark Zahra
Robert Smerdon

Girl Guide
Craig Williams
David Hayes

Craig Newitt
Chris Waller

Glen Boss
Peter Snowden

Sister Madly
Damien Oliver
John Sadler

Valentine Miss
Michael Rodd
Mark Kavanagh

Craig Williams
Brian Mayfield-Smith

Vivacious Spirit
Craig Newitt
Mick Price

Miss Judgement
Luke Nolen
Peter Moody

Queen Of The Hill
Noel Callow
Lee Freedman

Sarah Michelle/Brindabella
Michelle Payne/Noel Callow
Jim Mason/Leon McDonald

Stephen Baster
Brian Mayfield-Smith

Lovely Jubly
Brett Prebble
Brian Mayfield-Smith

Kerrin McEvoy
Mike Moroney

Miss Power Bird
Greg Childs
Leon Corstens

Nash Rawiller
Tony Noonan

How Now Stakes winners pre-2000

How Now Stakes Past Winners Pre 2000


Snippets’ Lass

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button